New Travel Ban Signed

On Monday March 6, 2017 President Trump signed Executive order 1379 that replicates the travel ban issued on Jan 27, 2017. The new travel ban blocks immigration from six Muslim-majority countries from entering the United States. Current countries that the ban blocks citizens from are Syria, Iran, Libya, Yemen, Somalia, and Sudan, exempting Iraq, from obtaining visas for at least 90 days. The Executive order also suspends admission of refugees into the U.S. for 120 days until there is an improvement of extreme vetting. Iraq was the only country removed from the ban, according to the New York Times, Defense Secretary Jim Mattis requested the reduction of Iraq. Defense Secretary Mattis stated that Iraq would be an ally in helping defeat terrorist groups like ISIS.

According to the department of state, The travel ban will go into effect beginning March 16. The order exempts citizens from the six countries banned with permanent residents and current visa holders of entering the U.S, and exludes those foreign nationals traveling on diplomatic visas, North Atlantic Treaty Organizations visas, C-2 visas for travels to the United Nations and G-1, G-2, G-3, G-4 visas. The new order may not be as harsh as the first one signed back in January, but it does continue to discriminate against people from the Muslim Religion.